Loading Events

Joanna Macy’s Truth Mandala ONLINE

Facilitated by School of Movement Medicine Faculty Member BEN YEGER

OPEN TO 25 PARTICIPANTS. No dance, movement, or previous Movement Medicine experience required. Come as you are. All are welcome.
Joanna Macy’s Truth Mandala is a powerful 3-HOUR Movement and Sharing Journey with a break mid-way for rest, journaling and refreshing.

OCTOBER 25, 2020 SUNDAY
8am-11am Pacific
9am-12pm Mountain
10am-1pm Central
11am-2pm Eastern
4pm-7pm UK & Ireland
5pm-8pm Europe
6pm-9pm Israel

SUGGESTED DONATION: $30-100, scholarships available. Please contact the Organizer. No one will be turned away for lack of funds. A percentage of the proceeds will be donated to local Milwaukee (the Organizer’s home community) organizations on the front line serving people suffering financial hardship and racial injustice as a result of the pandemic.

Coming from Gratitude,
Honouring and Owning the Pain for the World,
Seeing with New Eyes,
Going Forth

Ben will skilfully guide us through Joanna Macy’s profound Truth Mandala, blended with some pure and strong Movement Medicine to integrate the experiences of this powerful process.

Please join us for this timely and powerful event offered to those who wish their truth to be heard and witnessed as we speak our true emotional responses to the times we are facing on a global level at this time.

All people from all cultural backgrounds, races, genders, ages, and physical conditions are invited and encouraged to attend this event. No one will be turned away for lack of funds.

The Truth Mandala is a central component of Joanna Macy’s “Work that Reconnects”. In this ritual we are invited to speak of our anger, our fear, our grief and our sense of futility in the face of these extraordinary times of challenge and change. These expressions will be witnessed and validated by the gathered community.

Joanna Macy explains that speaking our truth and allowing the strength of our feelings to be fully heard is an act of courage and love. She speaks of the need to have these strong feelings expressed as a way of honouring and owning our pain for the world, the 2nd stage on the spiral of the Work that Reconnects.

FORMAT OF THE 3 HOUR ONLINE WORKSHOP

In preparation for participation in the Truth Mandala you will be invited to set up a simple altar with 4 objects:

A stick. To help us connect with our anger.
A stone. To represent our fears.
Some dry leaves. To represent our grief.
An empty bowl. To represent our sense of emptiness and futility.

These objects will support us to speak our truth and be practically ready for the Truth Mandala Ritual.

We will start the session by resourcing ourselves through Awakening the Dancing Warrior inside of us, calling ourselves to be fully present in body, heart and mind.

We will then familiarize ourselves with the structure of the Truth Mandala Ritual. When the Truth speaking is complete, we will dance what Joanna calls- “The Tantric Flip”.

Here we will draw on the Four Chambers of the Heart, in the Movement Medicine mandala to transform:
Our anger into our quest for justice;
Our fear into courage; the trust that it takes to stand up and speak out;
Grief to remind us how much we love life and this place we call home
Our sense of futility and emptiness into an opportunity for creativity and renewal.

This process will become a resourcing force to help us take part in making the changes we seek in the world. This is the 4th stage in the spiral of the Work that Reconnects Cycle- “Going Forth”

Whatever you are feeling in response to these times, this is a safe place for you to come and express what is in your heart. People from all walks of life who are willing to share, and listen, are warmly invited to join this gathering.

About Ben `Yeger

Ben Yeger is a Qualified Movement Medicine Facilitator and Teacher, and has been studying with Ya’Acov and Susannah Darling Khan since 2000 and is a faculty member for the School of Movement Medicine. Ben is also a Drama Therapist and highly experienced group facilitator, Director of Moving Conflicts, movingconflicts.org and the UK representative of Combatants for Peace, cfpeace.com. He works creatively in many settings to transform conflict, see his TEDx talk – Humanizing the Enemy tedxwarwick.com/talks (2013).

“Ben has a courageous commitment to inner and outer change and healing.
We are delighted to include him as